Alex

Day 19: Something I wish I could change

In 30 days on October 13, 2010 at 10:49 am

Money Hungry

Something that I wish I could change would be the insane cost of college. I no longer believe that the principles that college was founded on is no longer in practice. After being in college for several years, I can see the atrocities that the education system is committing.

Tuition is constantly going up. The Deans’ paychecks aren’t decreasing. The teachers’ paychecks are certainly not increasing. I find it funny that the people in the most power end up getting raises while everyone else suffers. I believe that teachers are the real heros in this society. They have to deal with more and more ill mannered and ignorant children. Kids these days aren’t being taught with proper values, it’s a shame. Every generation has worse and worse behaved children.

I’m not sure what I want to do in school anymore. I was thinking of being a teacher, but I don’t want to have a second job anymore. I don’t know what I want to do for graduate school. Education has always interested me, and I would think I could provide a fun and new learning experience to children. My problem is I want to work in an environment where students want to learn! This seems to be more increasingly difficult.

I can’t seem to get any scholarships, after so many applications and essays written, none. It hurts the fact my parents aren’t alumnus in any educational collegiate facility. My applications for scholarships continue, and here my rant stops.

Something I wish I could change: The fact that our education systems is a capitalistic systems that puts so many young people in debt.

Leave a Reply

