Alex

Day 5: My Dreams

In 30 days on September 1, 2010 at 9:37 pm

Passed out on the couch, with the dog

Do you wish your dreams could be your reality?

I don’t.

I hate my dreams, they are basically night terrors. I will awake in the middle of the night sweating and crying. They are always about the same thing. They involve a few close friends, and an ex. It begins as a great dream, then turns south. This dream has my ex and I playing heroes in this epic journey. We face many foes. We are accompanied along with some of my best friends. Eventually we all start to perish one by one. At the end it is only my ex and I left, right before I am about to be killed, he sacrifices himself for me, then I awake. I awake sometimes catching myself in a tantrum. I feel like I want to scream. I am so sad when I wake up. I don’t know how to get my ex out of my dreams…my nightmare. I wish I knew what to do. I want this dream, this prolonged night terror to cease. I am ready to let that go, let this lingering memory of times past go. We are not a couple anymore, nor should they sacrifice themselves in my dreams. I just wish I knew what it all means….

When I was younger I would have dreams. I would dream of splendid and delightful things. It usually included flight or swimming. Actually, thinking about my night terrors, they are usually dealing with non land activities…hmm. Any who, so I would have the ability of flight, or breath underwater. Essentially, I would have super human abilities. This is what I’ve always wanted, to be special. I believe that dreams are a projection of our self-conscious trying to rely information to our cranial processing center. Dreams are the realization of what we truly want/desire/lack & love.

Scientists define dreams as: “A communication of body, mind and spirit in a symbolic communicative environmental state of being.” (http://www.sleeps.com/basics.html).

A dream can mean different things to different people. Hope you have pleasant dreams.

Leave a Reply

